W&N Fiction

On the eleventh day of Christmas…

Gollancz Author: - January 4th, 2012
Dark Fantasy, Editorial Posts, Elspeth Cooper, Fantasy, Horror, Jaine Fenn, Kristin Cashore, News, Rae Carson, Sarah Pinborough, Science Fiction, Seasonal Posts, Suzanne McLeod

Yesterday we looked at three great debuts and three familiar faces with new projects in the genre – today we’re celebrating six fantastic genre novels which are all part of brilliant series (if you’ve missed them: where have you been?!) coming to a bookshelf near you!*

Trinity Moon, by Elspeth Cooper.
This brilliant series kicked off with Songs of the Earth – one of the greatest debuts Gollancz has ever published – and introduced Gair, one of the best fantasy heroes ever. Trinity Moon is a superb sequel: I guarantee that you will love it!

You can learn more about Elspeth Cooper, and say hi, at her website.

The Shifting Price of Prey, by Suzanne McLeod.
This is book four of the Spellcrackers series, starring Genny Taylor. She’s Sidhe fae, loves bacon sandwiches, and is entirely delicious to vampires . . . which makes her work with them rather more difficult. Jump in to this wonderful series – or, if you’re lucky enough to be new to it, pick up a copy of the first novel, The Sweet Scent of Blood, today!

You can learn more about Suzanne McLeod, and say hi, here.

Bitterblue, by Kristin Cashore.
While Bitterblue stands alone, it’s also the third novel in a loosely-linked series that began with the wonderful Graceling, and the exceptional sequel novel Fire. Pre-order your copy now, and be the first to read this haunting and exceptional novel of trauma, amnesia, as one Princess struggles to unravel the mysteries of the past.

You can learn more about Kristin Cashore, and say hi, here.

Queen of Nowhere, by Jaine Fenn.
A stand-alone science-fiction novel by Jaine Fenn, the guest of honour for Novocon 2012 (which gives you a clue just how brilliant she is!). Set in the same universe as her four linked space opera novels, this is a stand-alone adventure that’s perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Iain M. Banks. It’s smart, action-packed and brilliant – and we think you’re going to love Jaine’s fabulous new heroine!

You can learn more about Jaine Fenn(and give her a wave from us) on her website.


The Chosen Seed, by Sarah Pinborough.

Hold on to your hat! This is the conclusion to The Dog Faced Gods trilogy, one of the darkest and nastiest (and I mean that in a good way) trilogies we’ve ever published, and you’re in for a few fantastic surprises! Cass Jones is still on the case, the sinister Mr Bright is still operating in the background and, one way or another, the mystery is going to be resolved . . .

You can learn more about Sarah Pinborough, and say hi, on her website.

Crown of Embers, by Rae Carson.
We finish with another sequel, from one of our 2011 debut authors. If you love fantasy, and you love to see fantasy cliché’s undermined, you have to pick up Fire and Thorns, where Rae Carson takes every cliché in the book and gives it a smart twist to deliver a fabulous story. Crown of Embers is no exception, picking up the story and catapulting it to the next level. Read it if you dare . . . and if you loved Tangled, then read it because you really, really must . . . !

You can learn more about Rae Carson, and say hi, here.

* . . . dear gentlemen, do not despair! You dominated yesterday’s post with six of the best brand new books of 2012! And you were marvellous.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, January 4th, 2012 at 1:47 pm and is filed under Dark Fantasy, Editorial Posts, Elspeth Cooper, Fantasy, Horror, Jaine Fenn, Kristin Cashore, News, Rae Carson, Sarah Pinborough, Science Fiction, Seasonal Posts, Suzanne McLeod. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

2 Responses to “On the eleventh day of Christmas…”

  1. Kit Berry says:

    A very happy new year to you, Gillian.

  2. Mieneke says:

    Both Trinity Moon and Bitterblue are some of my most anticipated reads this year. Can’t wait for them to be out!

Leave a Reply