W&N Fiction

Big news for fans of Peter Grant/Rivers of London!

Gollancz Author: - January 23rd, 2014
Acquisitions, Ben Aaronovitch, Fantasy, News

Broken HomesWe are delighted to announce that in a major deal, we have acquired publishing rights from the Zeno Agency for the seventh and eighth books in Ben Aaronovitchs hugely successful Peter Grant/Rivers of London series!

Having inherited Ben from the excellent Jo Fletcher I couldn’t be happier that we’ve been able to move things on so well from the excellent start Ben had at Gollancz. Peter Grant and co have become firm favourites in-house (often with people at Orion who have never read a Gollancz title in their lives). Ben really does have a uniquely warm and commercial take on urban fantasy. These are books full of wit and bursting with a love of London, peopled by a hugely engaging cast of characters.  And behind it all Ben’s intricately worked out modern mythology and rich back-story ticks away, informing everything and deepening each and every book. Knowing that we have another four books to publish now is a wonderful feeling.

John Berlyne of the Zeno Agency had this to say about the deal: ‘This is a very exciting move by Orion.  Ben’s books have been a monster hit and it’s  great news for Ben’s many fans that the future of this brilliant series is assured.’

There will thus be at least four more titles in the series following on from the fourth novel, BROKEN HOMES, which was released last July. The fifth book in the series, FOXGLOVE SUMMER, is due out in the UK this summer. The provisional title for book six is THE HANGING TREE. We’ll announce titles for the newly contracted books seven and eight in due course.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This entry was posted on Thursday, January 23rd, 2014 at 1:37 pm and is filed under Acquisitions, Ben Aaronovitch, Fantasy, News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

56 Responses to “Big news for fans of Peter Grant/Rivers of London!”

  1. George says:

    Great news! Can’t wait to read the new novels. Awesome series ;)

  2. Thea Wilson says:

    Fantastic news! Ben Aaronovitch was the standout author for me last year and it’s so exciting to here that there is much more to come from him!

  3. Jabberwocky says:

    Great news – I love this series, and can’t wait for Foxglove Summer!

  4. Bea says:

    I have not been this excited about an author in years! Now I just have to go out and find myself a fan conspiracy forum to guess the identity of Old Faceless. My bets so far are on Martin Turner, because why else would he get to open the series and spend two pages with us before disappearing forever? :)

  5. Arlothwen says:

    This is fantastic news. I love this series, it has been brilliantly written and knowing that there are (at least) another 4 books to come is just wonderful. Thank you so much :)

  6. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and [...]

  7. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and [...]

  8. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and [...]

  9. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  10. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  11. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  12. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  13. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  14. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  15. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  16. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  17. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  18. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  19. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  20. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  21. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  22. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  23. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  24. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  25. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  26. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  27. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  28. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  29. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  30. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  31. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  32. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  33. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  34. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  35. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  36. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  37. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  38. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

  39. [...] 17 Jul 2014) — the fifth book in the Peter Grant series, with a sixth on the way next year, and contracted for books 7 and 8 — US release is from DAW on Oct [...]

Leave a Reply