W&N Fiction

Archive for the ‘Science Fiction’ Category

Happy Publication Day to Luna: Wolf Moon!

Gollancz Team: - March 23rd, 2017
Book Birthday, Ian McDonald, Science Fiction

It’s publication day and we’ve got an outta-this-world book for you. The sequel to what was described as ‘Game of Thrones on the moon’, this book is a must-have!

Luna: Wolf Moon by Ian McDonald

The BSFA and Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author returns with the second part of his stunning moon colonisation epic, perfect for fans of The Martian and Red Mars.

Corta Helio, one of the five family corporations that rule the Moon,  has fallen. Its riches are divided up … More

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in Book Birthday, Ian McDonald, Science Fiction | No Comments »

Miska Corbin vs. the World

Gollancz Team: - February 10th, 2017
Author Post, Gavin G. Smith, Science Fiction

We are thrilled to welcome the brilliant Gavin Smith back to the Gollancz Blog. Today, Gavin will introduce us to the unforgettable Miska Corbin and we’ll get to see how she would fare against some of our favourite genre characters. 

Seven years ago my first novel, Veteran, came out.  To help publicise it I wrote this blog comparing Jakob Douglas, the ne’er do well hero of Veteran with other fictional, so-called hard men like Snake Plissken, Takeshi … More

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Author Post, Gavin G. Smith, Science Fiction | 1 Comment »

The Martians have returned in our extract from THE MASSACRE OF MANKIND

Gollancz Team: - January 11th, 2017
Science Fiction, Stephen Baxter

We are thrilled to share with you the opening chapters from Stephen Baxter’s The Massacre of Mankind.

Are you ready for the Martian invasion?

The Massacre of Mankind is the authorised sequel to H.G. Wells’ classic The War of the Worlds.

It has been 14 years since the Martians invaded England. The world has moved on, always watching the skies but content that we know how to defeat the Martian menace. The Army is prepared.

So when the signs of launches on Mars … More

Tags: , , , , , ,
Posted in Science Fiction, Stephen Baxter | No Comments »

Welcome to the #SummerOfReckoning . . .

Gollancz Team: - July 26th, 2016
Events, Horror, Science Fiction

Summer has finally arrived. With the weather hotting up, its time to talk about . . . the end of the world. We’ve teamed up with our sister imprints Orion and W&N to bring you the ultimate list of summer apocalypse reads, our #SummerofReckoning. Give in to the Doomsday prepper in you and get yourself a bug out bag of apocalypses for your summer reading!

 

Our #SummerOfReckoning books are:

The Hatching by Ezekiel Boone
Smoke by Dan Vyleta
The Fireman by Joe Hill
Red … More

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Events, Horror, Science Fiction | 2 Comments »

The Five Things That Make World-Class Science Fiction a Guest Post by Alex Lamb

Gollancz Team: - April 29th, 2016
Author Post, Science Fiction

We are delighted to welcome Alex Lamb back to the Gollancz Blog. Alex’s latest book, Nemesis, the sequel to the hard-hitting and action-packed Roboteer, is out now in bookshops.We asked Alex to tell us the five things that make world-class Science Fiction. Here’s what he had to say  . . .

I’ve spent my life drenched in science fiction. When I was a small boy, before Star Wars arrived in our town, my fixation with all things extraterrestrial … More

Tags: , , , , , ,
Posted in Author Post, Science Fiction | 1 Comment »

Next Page »