The Boy With the Porcelain Blade: Chapter 3 and early reviews

boyOur book of the month for March is the brilliant debut The Boy With the Porcelain Blade from Den Patrick, which is out this Thursday (20th). The blogosphere is already beginning to light up with buzz about it – advance reviews are full of how gripping it is, how appealing the characters are and how rich the world is. We couldn’t agree more! Click on the publication links to read the full reviews, and scroll down to get your hands on chapter three.

“A finely-crafted thriller… that will appeal to fans of Robin Hobb, Scott Lynch and Jon Courtenay Grimwood.” (Jack Parsons, SciFiNow)

“Featuring swordfights, violence and full-tilt action…familiar intrigues with a darker more gothic touch” (Saxon Bollock, SFX )

“It is a fast paced novel, economically layered but deceptively detailed. I found the character descriptions and locations exceptionally realised as I flew through the story in what felt like shared real time” (Malachy Coney, Forbidden Planet International)

“The characters are fantastically created here. They feel complete and have multiple layers. I also liked the fact that they’re not perfect” (Pat Scattergood, Curiosity of a Social Misfit)

“Den Patrick is an extremely talented author, creating a detailed and complex world that is effortless to read” (Ed Fortune, Starburst Magazine)

“The Boy with the Porcelain Blade packs a lot of punch and is extremely well written in an excellent literary style which is sadly often absent in modern fantasy… The Boy with the Porcelain Blade is a rich, literary fantasy thriller which bodes well for the rest of the series” (UPCOMING 4 ME)

“A singular and brilliant fantasy debut” (My God It’s Raining)

Don’t believe the hype? You can see for yourself with chapters one, two and three available to read now. And if you are convinced (guys, when are we ever wrong?), don’t forget you can buy the ebook for just £1.99 until 27th March – that includes pre-ordering from this very instant. Hurrah!

boy twitter preorder

 

Simon

I find myself the Associate Publisher of Gollancz with no clear idea of how I got here but fairly sure I enjoyed the journey. There was some college, a lot of bookselling and a bit of marketing along the way but that was a long time ago. I’ve been editing since 1991. I’ve always read SF, Fantasy and Horror but I’ve always enjoyed reading other stuff as well. I’ve published other stuff too but never had as much fun doing it as I have publishing genre books. I’m very happy doing what I’m doing; to the extent that I’ve been comprehensively ruined for doing anything else. Anything else may have got off lightly. I’m definitely more Arthur Dent than I am Takeshi Kovacs. But then if anyone in publishing tells you they’re like Takeshi Kovacs they are LYING.