Best Films of 2015

Gollancz Editorial Manager Charlie gives his rundown on the best films of last year, based on UK cinema release dates. Honourable Mentions: Big Hero 6, Sicario, Song of the Sea, Tangerine, Wild 20. Dope (dir. Rick Famuyiwa) Wonderfully energetic and freewheeling, with one of the few good uses of a voiceover in a non-Scorsese film, and it was nice to see Tony Revolori again after The Grand Budapest Hotel. 19. Clouds of Sils Maria (dir. Olivier Assayas) One of those fascinating character studies where the lines betwen fact and fiction are hazy throughout. Easily Kristen Stewart’s best role to date,…

CONTINUE READING

Review: Dreams and Shadows and Queen of the Dark Things

Whilst feverishly catching up on the Gollancz list Harriet, our new-ish Marketing Assistant, has discovered the wonder that is C. Robert Cargill. Here is her review of Dreams and Shadows and Queen of the Dark Things.   I have had two truly wonderful experiences over the past month: discovering C. Robert Cargill and seeing Justin Timberlake in concert. Both were magical, but in very different ways. But I’m not here to talk about JT . . . Cargill’s Dreams and Shadows is the first of the books featuring wizard Colby Stevens, who we then meet all grown up in Queen of…

CONTINUE READING

The Boy With the Porcelain Blade: Chapter 3 and early reviews

Our book of the month for March is the brilliant debut The Boy With the Porcelain Blade from Den Patrick, which is out this Thursday (20th). The blogosphere is already beginning to light up with buzz about it – advance reviews are full of how gripping it is, how appealing the characters are and how rich the world is. We couldn’t agree more! Click on the publication links to read the full reviews, and scroll down to get your hands on chapter three. “A finely-crafted thriller… that will appeal to fans of Robin Hobb, Scott Lynch and Jon Courtenay Grimwood.” (Jack…

CONTINUE READING

Geeks Friday Read: N0S4R2

To celebrate not only the horror-fest that is Halloween this week, but also the Christmas edition of N0S4R2 being published, we have chosen to share one of our brilliant Gollancz Geeks reviews with you for Joe Hill’s epic horror. This week’s Geek review comes from Jan, who has given us this great review of N0S4R2 to sink your Halloween teeth into. Enjoy! Determined not to be put off by the sheer size of the book (I was wary of investing so much time in an author I had never read before), I started reading and literally did not want to put…

CONTINUE READING