The Boy with the Porcelain Blade

The Boy with the Porcelain Blade

An ornate yet dark fantasy, with echoes of Scott Lynch, Robin Hobb and Jon Courtenay Grimwood. An original and beautifully imagined world, populated by unforgettable characters. A debut novel which garnered rave reviews on publication from fellow authors, bloggers and the likes of SFX magazine.

Lucien de Fontein has grown up different. One of the mysterious and misshapen Orfano who appear around the Kingdom of Landfall, he is a talented fighter yet constantly lonely, tormented by his deformity, and well aware that he is a mere pawn in a political game. Ruled by an insane King and the venomous Majordomo, it is a world where corruption and decay are deeply rooted – but to a degree Lucien never dreams possible when he first discovers the plight of the ‘insane’ women kept in the haunting Sanatoria.

Told in a continuous narrative interspersed with flashbacks we see Lucien grow up under the care of his tutors. We watch him forced through rigorous Testings, and fall in love, set against his yearning to discover where he comes from, and how his fate is tied to that of every one of the deformed Orfano in the Kingdom, and of the eerie Sanatoria itself.
Read More

On Sale: 20th March 2014

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780575134164

Reviews

featuring swordfights, violence and full-tilt action...familiar intrigues with a darker more gothic touch
Saxon Bollock, SFX
It is a fast paced novel, economically layered but deceptively detailed. I found the character descriptions and locations exceptionally realised as I flew through the story in what felt like shared real time
Joe Gordon, FORBIDDEN PLANET INTERNATIONAL
This is a rollicking tale of feuding families, vendettas, politics, deception and rivalry...The Boy with the Porcelain Blade is a rich and satisfying novel, and a surprisingly assured novel from this relatively new writer
SFF World
The Boy with the Porcelain Blade is an intriguing novel that opens like a flower to reveal all to those who choose to read it
Fantasy Book Review
A singular and brilliant fantasy debut
My God It's Raining
Den Patrick has offered up a bold an immersive introduction to his Landfall trilogy that deserves to duel its way onto the bookshelves of many readers
Film in Words
The story is brimming with abductions, assassination attempts and internal politics
Lynns Books
If you enjoy your buckle being swashed with a healthy side order of conspiratorial plotting this could well be the book for you
The Eloquent Page
a tale that left me hanging for more
Falcata Times
a solid and brilliant book with a unique and engaging voice
Starburst Magazine
a strong and confident first novel with a great mix of romance, skulduggery, swashbuckling and intrigue
Geek Planet Online
The Boy with the Porcelain Blade packs a lot of punch and is extremely well written in an excellent literary style which is sadly often absent in modern fantasy...The Boy with the Porcelain Blade is a rich, literary fantasy which bodes will for the rest of the series
UPCOMING 4 ME
Den Patrick is an extremely talented author, creating a detailed and complex world that is effortless to read.
Ed Fortune, Starburst Magazine
- The Boy with the Porcelain Blade displays an impressive talent for character and story
We Love This Book
a finely-crafted thriller...that will appeal to fans of Robin Hobb, Scott Lynch and Jon Courtenay Grimwood
Jack Parsons, SciFiNow
Amongst many of the existing fantasy books currently published Den Patrick makes an original and exciting entrance... I am definitely in for more stories set in this intriguing world. Den Patrick is off to a good start, a true gem in the making!
The Book Plank
Patrick manages to blend two intertwining narratives masterfully
Nerd Like You
The characters are fantastically created here. They feel complete and have multiple layers. I also liked the fact that they're not perfect
Pat Scattergood, Curiosity of a Social Misfit