We Are The Dead

We Are The Dead

The first book in The Last War series: a debut epic fantasy full of crunching revolutionary action, twisted magic, and hard choices in dark times.

The war is over. The enemy won.


Jia’s people learned the hard way that there are no second chances. The Egril, their ancient enemy, struck with magic so devastating that Jia’s armies were wiped out. Now terror reigns in the streets, and friend turns on friend just to live another day.

Somehow Tinnstra – a deserter, a failure, nothing but a coward – survived. She wants no more than to hide from the chaos.

But dragged into a desperate plot to retake Jia, surrounded by people willing to do anything to win the fight, this time Tinnstra will need to do more than hide.

If Jia is to get a second chance after all, this time she will need to be a hero.

With all the grit of Joe Abercrombie, Mark Lawrence and Ed McDonald, this is fantasy with the sharpest of edges.

* * * * * * * * * *

‘The next Game of Thrones’ Glen Cook, author of The Black Company

‘Tarantino crossed with David Gemmell’ Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones

‘A powerful debut’ Gavin Smith, author of The Bastard Legion
Read More

On Sale: 8th August 2019

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9781473225213

Reviews

Hooked from page one, We Are the Dead rattles along with the pace of a runaway bullet train. Original, engaging, flawed but very-human characters draw us into a world rent by war, a world of brutal occupation, tarnished honour and devastating magics. This is a powerful debut and Shackle is an author to watch
Gavin Smith, author of The Bastard Legion
A masterpiece of a story about hope, resistance and fellowship
The Book Bag
Like Tarantino crossed with David Gemmell . . . Absolutely splendid. Shackle has come up with something really special here
Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones
Likely the next Game of Thrones, and the best book I've read in several years. Erikson, Martin and Rothfuss are going to have to shove over and make room at the bar . . . I can't think how to tone down my enthusiasm
Glen Cook, author of The Black Company
An adventure that's rich in darkness and bloodshed.
SFX MAGAZINE
We Are the Dead is a fantasy novel that is able to blend the modern trends of dark fantasy with the magical styles of the past
SF Book
We Are the Dead is a staggering, marvellous and gripping fantasy debut
Grimdark Magazine
A barnstorming book of ordinary people dealing with extraordinary circumstances - great fun and very entertaining
Tom Lloyd, author of Stranger of Tempest
Gripping, grim and glorious
Mark Stay, author of The End of Magic
Fans of Joe Abercrombie and R.F. Kuang are sure to find something to love here
Fantasy Hive
An utter masterpiece
Where There's Ink There's Paper
A brutal showstopper of a novel
Always Trust in Books
This is a good fun resistance story, featuring thoroughly horrible, and believable, occupiers
Morning Star
A barnstorming book of ordinary people dealing with extraordinary circumstances - great fun and very entertaining
Tom Lloyd, author of Stranger of Tempest
A fantastic, enthralling debut. Imagine if Akira Kurosawa and Joe Abercrombie wrote a fantasy thriller with a pace that moves at the speed of light. Can't wait for the next book
Jeremy Szal, author of Stormblood
One of the best fantasy debuts in years
Civilian Reader
We Are the Dead is awesome. Memorable characters. One of the most sadistic villains I've ever encountered. Tightly woven action scenes that feel like something you'd see in a Micheal Mann film. I was gripped and loving it the entire time
Brian Naslund, author of Blood of an Exile
An easy 5 Stars from me . . . The tension ratchets up nicely as the best laid plans fall apart and people struggle to survive. The world building and characters fit together flawlessly
Cameron Johnston, author of The Traitor God