Master Artificer

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781473222939

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 6th May 2021

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The fabulous sequel to 2019’s hit debut novel: Master of Sorrows.
Annev has avoided one fate. But a darker path may still claim him . . .

After surviving the destruction of Chaenbalu, new mysteries and greater threats await Annev and his friends in the capital city of Luqura. As they navigate the city’s perilous streets, Annev searches for a way to control his nascent magic and remove the cursed artifact now fused to his body.

But what might removing it cost him?

As Annev grapples with his magic, Fyn joins forces with old enemies and new allies, waging a secret war against Luqura’s corrupt guilds in the hopes of forging his own criminal empire. Deep in the Brakewood, Myjun is learning new skills of her own as apprentice to Oyru, the shadow assassin who attacked the village of Chaenbalu – but the power of revenge comes at a daunting price. And back in Chaenbalu itself, left for dead in the Academy’s ruins, Kenton seeks salvation in the only place he can: the power hoarded in the Vault of Damnation . . .

‘Master of Sorrows is a brilliant and riveting tale about having the courage to find and choose one’s path. I recommend this book for lovers of classic epic fantasy looking for a modern voice’ NOVEL NOTIONS

‘A wonderful mix of the old and the new . . . if you’re a fan of coming-of-age stories, magic schools, and the idea of what’s right and what’s wrong, then Master of Sorrows is the book for you’ THE FANTASY INN

‘A very strong dark fantasy debut that will appeal directly to fans of The Poppy War and The Name of the Wind. It’s intense, mystical and brutal’

‘This is an adventure well-worth embarking on, one filled with monsters, gods, deception and betrayal’

What's Inside

Read More Read Less


This riveting second installment in The Silent Gods series reveals a complex magic system that rivals Brandon Sanderson's. As Ainnevog's journey explodes across the pages, taking dark turns towards a darker destiny, it will keep you reading into the early hours of the morning
Sean Reads Books
The Silent Gods series is a 'Wheel of Time' for a new generation, a clever inversion of the hero's journey set in a vivid, meticulously-crafted setting. Justin T. Call is an author to watch!
The Cyberbard
Master Artificer takes everything you thought you knew in Master of Sorrows and burns it to the ground in order to bring forth something new and glittering from its ashes
A Cat, A Book, and A Cup of Tea
If Master of Sorrows established a fresh new mark on modern epic fantasy, then Master Artificer carves a brightly burning glyph [...] Call has created a rare blend of story innovation, authentic characters, and a finely-crafted, diverse world
Fantasy Book Review
Call is a modern high fantasy master, our very own Master of Epic Tales. [...] I believe he's the best modern high fantasy writer of our time
Your Friendly Neighborhood Inkslinger
Move over Sanderson, there's a new master story-teller in town
Mike Shackle, author of WE ARE THE DEAD