Pre-order your copy of A Veil of Spears and get an exclusive Shattered Sands Novella!

Have we got exciting news for you!?! We are thrilled to welcome Bradley Beaulieu back to the Gollancz Blog to share with you an exclusive offer for those of you who pre-order the incredible new book in the Shattered Sands series. Weve also got an exciting sneak peek at the first chapter of A Veil of Spears. A Veil of Spears releases March 22nd from Gollancz. In order to help spread the word about this latest exciting installment in the series, I’m offering a pre-order incentive! From now until March 23, 2018, if you pre-order a copy of A Veil of Spears, anywhere in the world,…

CONTINUE READING

Slush Pile Success! Assistant Editor snatches brilliant Icelandic fantasy debut from open submissions!

Gollancz, is delighted to announce the acquisition of a brilliant, genre-defining fantasy duology by debut author Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson. SHADOWS OF THE SHORT DAYS, is a strikingly original Icelandic debut set in a strangely familiar alternate Reykjavík where wild and industrialised magic meet. Perfect for fans of China Miéville, Lev Grossman and Paulo Bacigalupi, this is a strange and wonderful tale of damaged characters forging a revolution against an oppressive government. Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson is a fantastic new voice in the genre that will speak to a new generation of readers. Gollancz assistant editor, Craig Leyenaar, acquired World Rights to…

CONTINUE READING

Happy Publication Day 8th February 2018!

Happy Thursday! Have we got an exciting publication day for you! From out of this world SF to epic fantasy, we’ve got six thrilling new reads that need to be on your to be read pile.   The Belles – Dhonielle Clayton Scott Westerfeld’s The Uglies meets Louise O’Neill’s Only Ever Yours, The Belles is a powerful, diverse crossover YA that will make you question the value we assign to beauty. It’s strikingly beautiful – stuffed full of gluttonously vivid descriptions that highlight the rotten core of a world obsessed with outward appearance. In Orleans, the people are born grey…

CONTINUE READING

Join us for our #CHALLENGEBEAUTY week

Dhonielle Clayton’s The Belles publishes today and in celebration of the important messages this book has for us about beauty and the value we assign to outward appearance we are issuing a #ChallengeBeauty week. This is a week dedicated to celebrating beauty in all its forms and talking about the sheer awesomeness that is The Belles, the book Rick Riordan called ‘The next big groundbreaking event in YA’!   8th: we kick off the week with an author takeover on the Gollancz twitter where you can #AskDhonielle your questions about the book. 9th: then we’re asking you to share your…

CONTINUE READING

Happy Publication Day 2nd February 2018!

It’s publication day and we’ve got two incredible new books to share with you. So get your wishlists ready and take note of these epic new reads.    Altered Carbon by Richard Morgan Airing on Netflix tomorrow worldwide, this must-read story is a confident, action-and-violence packed thriller, and future classic noir SF novel from a multi-award-winning author. Four hundred years from now mankind is strung out across a region of interstellar space inherited from an ancient civilization discovered on Mars. The colonies are linked together by the occasional sublight colony ship voyages and hyperspatial data-casting. Human consciousness is digitally freighted…

CONTINUE READING