Happy Publication Day 12th July 2018!

Hi everyone, Another paperback publication day rolls around, and today we have a triptych of treats for you! Scroll on down to check out today’s horde of fantasy and science fiction gold.   The Real-Town Murders – Adam Roberts An impossible murder. A ticking deadline. A political coup. A Hitchcockian thriller set in a chilling near future. Alma is a private detective in a near-future England, a country desperately trying to tempt people away from the delights of Shine, the immersive successor to the internet. But most people are happy to spend their lives plugged in, and the country is…

CONTINUE READING

Cover Reveal: Ancestral Night

Hi everyone, We are delighted to reveal the fantastic cover for Elizabeth Bear’s upcoming novel, Ancestral Night. It’s an absolute beauty! We have Orion’s own Tomas Almeida to thank for this stunning design – he’s done justice to what is an outstanding book. Read on for a taster:   Cutting edge ideas and amazing characters in an SF novel that announces the arrival of multi-award winning Elizabeth Bear to the Gollancz list. A wild, big-ideas space opera that will appeal to fans of Iain M. Banks, Peter F. Hamilton and Al Reynolds from a John W. Campbell and multiple Hugo award…

CONTINUE READING

Cover Reveal: The Caged Queen

Hello everyone, On this blissfully sunny day in the UK, we have a gleaming, shiny, fantastic new cover for you all to feast upon. See below for the cover to Kristen Ciccarelli’s next novel, The Caged Queen, based on an original design by DAS ILLUSTRAT with a photograph by Ervin Usman.   Lavish, romantic and magical, The Caged Queen is a new story in the world of The  Last Namsara – one that fans of the first book will flock to Once there were two sisters born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. When they were angry, mirrors shattered,…

CONTINUE READING

Harlan Ellison: 1934-2018

We were saddened to hear of the passing of the legendary Harlan Ellison yesterday. Often controversial, always unequivocal and forever one of our finest writers, Harlan Ellison will be missed. During the course of an illustrious career he wrote over 1700 short stories, novellas, screenplays, essays, anthologies and novels. He won seven Hugos, three Nebulas and, in 2005, was named a SFWA Grandmaster. He was one of the defining authors of New Wave SF, and was close contemporaries with such notable writers as Robert Silverberg, Isaac Asimov, Michael Moorcock, Samuel R Delaney, Damon Knight, and Philip Jose Farmer to name…

CONTINUE READING

Happy Publication Day: 21st June 2018!

Hi everyone, Just the one title releasing today, and it’s C. Robert Cargill’s latest work. We have all our fingers and toes firmly crossed he wins the Arthur C. Clarke Award this July for his fantastic Sea of Rust. But today is all about We Are Where the Nightmares Go and Other Stories! Read on for a taste. From the critically acclaimed screenwriter of Doctor Strange and author of Sea of Rust and Queen of the Dark Things comes a hair-raising collection of short fiction that illuminates the strange, humorous, fantastical and downright diabolical that tantalise and terrorise us: demons, monsters, zombie dinosaurs and Death…

CONTINUE READING