Happy Publication Day 12th January 2017!

It’s a week of classic science fiction as we reissue six novels by one of the fathers of science fiction, H. G. Wells, and publish the paperback of The Medusa Chronicles by Alastair Reynolds and Stephen Baxter, who has written The Massacre of Mankind (publishing 19th January), the authorised sequel to H.G. Wells’ The War of the Worlds.


The Medusa Chronicles by Alastair Reynolds & Stephen Baxter

 Inspired by Arthur C. Clarke’s Nebula Award winning A Meeting with Medusa, this is an epic adventure from two of the greatest science fiction writers of our time.

Inspired by Sir Arthur C. Clarke’s short story A Meeting with Medusa, this novel, with permission from the Clarke Estate, continues the story of Commander Howard Falcon over centuries of space-exploration, interaction with AI, first contact and beyond. All brought to life by two of our greatest SF authors, Stephen Baxter and Alastair Reynolds.

Howard Falcon almost lost his life in an accident . . . and a combination of human ingenuity and technical expertise brought him back. Not as himself, but as an augmented human: part man, part machine, and exceptionally capable.

The Medusa Chronicles charts his journey through time, the changing interaction between humanity and our universe, and combined moments of incredible action with unparalleled exploration of and expansion into space. A compelling read from the beginning, this is classic SF which has appeal for readers who like Gravity and The Martian.

‘A vivid and vital take on a pace age future that never actually happened. Clarke, you may find yourself thinking, would surely approve’  SFX

‘With these two titans of the genre, jaw-dropping imagination and laser-sharp wordcraft are guaranteed. They have created a beautiful novel, wonderful to explore’ Sun

 ‘Brings the strengths of both writers – a thorough grasp of scientific principles and the ability to present them in well-paced, engaging narratives’ The Guardian

The Medusa Chronicles is available now in paperback.


The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells

 H.G. Wells’ classic novel in which Martian lifeforms take over planet Earth. As the Martians emerge, they construct giant killing machines – armed with heatrays – that are impervious to attack. Advancing upon London they destroy everything in their path. Everything, except the few humans they collect in metal traps.

Victorian England is a place in which the steam engine is state-of-the-art technology and powered flight is just a dream. Mankind is helpless against the killing machines from Mars, and soon the survivors are left living in a new stone age.

And don’t miss the authorised sequel to The War of the Worlds: The Massacre of Mankind by Stephen Baxter.

Available now in paperback as a SF Masterwork.


The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

 A Victorian scientist develops a time machine and travels to the year 802,171 AD. There he finds the meek, child-like Eloi who live in fear of the underground-dwelling Morlocks. When his time machine goes missing, the Traveller faces a fight to enter the Morlocks’ domain and return to his own time.

The Time Machine remains one of the cornerstones of science-fiction literature and has proved hugely influential.

Available now in paperback as a SF Masterwork.


The Food of the Gods by H.G. Wells

 Wells’ classic story of unchecked scientific progress and unforseen consequences, with an introduction by Adam Roberts.

Two scientists develop a foodstuff that causes unparalleled growth in animals and humans. The results of their experimentation lead to chaos and unforseen consequences throughout the land.

The Food of the Gods deals with many issues which are still present in science today and is a both witty and disturbing tale.

Available now in paperback as a SF Masterwork.


The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells

 The Invisible Man tells the story of Griffin, a brilliant and obsessed scientist dedicated to achieving invisibility. Taking whatever action is necessary to keep his incredible discovery safe, he terrorises the local village where he has sought refuge. Wells skilfully weaves the themes of science, terror and pride as the invisible Griffin gradually loses his sanity and, ultimately, his humanity.

Available now in paperback as a SF Masterwork.


The First Men in the Moon by H.G. Wells

 Thanks to the discovery of an anti-gravity metal, Cavorite, two Victorian Englishman decide to tackle the most prestigious goal – space travel. They construct a sphere that will ultimately take them to the moon. On landing, they encounter what seems like an utterly barren landscape but they soon find signs that the planet was once very much alive. Then they hear curious hammering sounds from beneath the surface, and come face to face with the Selenites, a race of insect-like aliens living in a rigidly organised hive society.

Available now in paperback as a SF Masterwork.


The Island of Doctor Moreau by H.G. Wells

 Edward Prendick is shipwrecked and finds himself stranded on an island in the Pacific. Here he meets the sinister Dr Moreau, a vivisectionst driven out of Britain in disgrace. And soon strange events cause Prendick to uncover the full horror of Dr Moreau’s activities on the island.

The Island of Doctor Moreau mixes discussion on the divide between humans and the animal kingdom and chilling macabre horror in an unrivaled fashion. Its question on how far science should go is one that rings true today as it did when it was first published.

Available now in paperback as a SF Masterwork.


And in case you missed it, last week we published the paperback of Brandon Sanderson’s The Bands of Mourning. A brand new Mistborn story from the master of modern fantasy!