W&N Fiction

Archive for the ‘News’ Category

GEORGE R.R. MARTIN’S WILD CARDS IS GOING TO BE A TV SERIES!

Gollancz Team: - August 12th, 2016
George R.R. Martin, News

wild cards

You might have heard a little announcement made by a certain behemoth of fantasy this week. If you haven’t, then please forgive our use of capitals for a moment while we shout about it:

GEORGE R.R. MARTIN’S WILD CARDS IS GOING TO BE A TV SERIES!

Phew, OK, now we’ve caught our breath from dancing around the office imagining who will be playing our favourite characters, we should probably talk about the Wild Cards books, just in case you haven’t already … More

Tags: , , , , , ,
Posted in George R.R. Martin, News | 11 Comments »

Gollancz acquires stunning cross-over fantasy series in hotly-fought auction

Gollancz Team: - August 11th, 2016
Acquisitions, Fantasy, News

Kristen Ciccarelli Author Photo

Gollancz, an imprint of the Orion Publishing Group, is delighted to announce the acquisition of a stunning cross-over fantasy series by debt author, Kristen Ciccarelli. Beginning with ASKARI, the series is perfect for readers who enjoy Victoria Aveyard, Kristin Cashore and Sarah J. Mass. A sweeping epic focused on strong characters, dangerous escapades and poisonous politics – Kristen Ciccarelli is a superb new voice in the genre.

ASKARI centres round Asha, an accomplished dragon-slayer and fierce warrior whose homeland is … More

Tags: , , , , , ,
Posted in Acquisitions, Fantasy, News | No Comments »

Another Update On The Gollancz Open Submissions

Gollancz Team: - August 8th, 2016
News, Submissions

Sorry we're so slow . . .

As many have noticed the two-month deadline  we set ourselves for responding to all submissions has passed.

We are truly sorry about this as we have been trying our hardest to get through  them, but there are just not enough of us to go through them quickly and still give each one the care and attention we feel we should. That’s the bad news.

The good news is we have finished the first round of submissions. This means we have looked at … More

Tags: , , , , ,
Posted in News, Submissions | 14 Comments »

The Gollancz Festival is Back!

Gollancz Team: - July 15th, 2016
Gollancz Festival, News

gollancz fest 16

 We are thrilled to be able to tell you that the Gollancz Festival is back!  This year we are working with Foyles Charing Cross Road to bring you two incredible days of events.

We will have three different bookshop panel events running from 17th-18th September at Foyles Charing Cross Road. These panel events will be three hours long and priced at £15 each. Find out more about our panel events, list of authors participating and timings here.

In addition to … More

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in Gollancz Festival, News | No Comments »

Back from Eastercon with big news!

Gollancz Team: - March 29th, 2016
Awards, News

house of shattered wings

We would like to congratulate Aliette de Bodard on her double win at the British Science Fiction Awards. Aliette won for best novel: The House of Shattered Wings and best short fiction: ‘Three Cups of Grief, by Starlight’. This is the first time a single author has won both best novel and best short fiction in the same year. Please join us in congratulating Aliette de Bodard.

We’d also like to congratulate Adam Roberts for winning … More

Tags: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Awards, News | 47 Comments »

Next Page »