Gollancz acquires science fiction murder mystery set on Mars

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of World Rights to science fiction thriller ONE WAY and its sequel by S.J. Morden. Perfect for fans of Andy Weir’s The Martian and Richard Morgan, ONE WAY is a murder mystery set on the frozen wastes of Mars. Eight astronauts, one Killer, no way home. Gollancz Senior Editor, Rachel Winterbottom, bought the rights to the two-book deal from Antony Harwood at Antony Harwood Ltd. Author, S. J. Morden said: ‘It’s not often a writer gets the opportunity to both let their geek flag fly high, and slaughter their way through a cast…

CONTINUE READING

Hailing Frequencies Open

This is a follow-up in some ways to the post I wrote on Mars and whether there’s room for inspiration in the cerebral spaces or whether we’ve become culturally dependent upon athletes as role models… Neil deGrasse Tyson may not be a name that’s familiar to you. If it’s not, though, IMHO it should be. Dr Tyson is the Director of the Hayden Planetarium in New York, a regular on US television programmes such as The Daily Show and The Colbert Report, and the sort of engaging, enthusiastic supporter of science that, frankly, we need more of, these days. Think…

CONTINUE READING

Life on Mars?

Earlier today, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, better known by its famous acronym, NASA, landed its latest Mars rover, Curiosity, on the red planet. Its journey of some 350 million miles, took it the better part of 256 days and it’s mission is projected to last about two years – two Earth years, I suppose I should say, now that Curiosity is on a planet whose year lasts almost two of ours – during which it will search for signs that Mars may once have supported life. For readers of science fiction, of course, Mars has supported life for…

CONTINUE READING