W&N Fiction

Posts Tagged ‘News’

Gollancz pre-empts debut YA fantasy THE GIRL KING

Gollancz Team: - May 12th, 2017
Acquisitions, News

Rachel Winterbottom, Senior Editor at Gollancz, has bought UK and Commonwealth (ex. Canada) rights in a two-book pre-empt for THE GIRL KING by Mimi Yu from Molly Ker Hawn at The Bent Agency, to be published in Spring 2019 in trade paperback. This YA debut was inspired by East and North Asian histories and follows an exiled princess fighting to reclaim the throne from her cruel cousin, with the reluctant help of a shapeshifting boy whose family was killed by … More

Tags: , , , , , ,
Posted in Acquisitions, News | No Comments »

Announcing a stunning new epic fantasy series from Gollancz

Gollancz Team: - March 23rd, 2017
Acquisitions, Chris Wooding, Fantasy

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of The Ember Blade, and two further titles in an epic fantasy trilogy, by award-winning author Chris Wooding.

A land under occupation. A legendary sword. A young man’s journey to find his destiny.

Aren has lived by the rules all his life. He’s never questioned it; that’s just the way things are. But then his father is executed for treason, and he and his best friend Cade are thrown into a prison mine, doomed … More

Tags: , , , , ,
Posted in Acquisitions, Chris Wooding, Fantasy | No Comments »

*OPEN SUBMISSION ALERT* We’ve got some news!

Gollancz Team: - March 15th, 2017
Submissions, Writing

Hello everyone,

As you have probably noticed our deadline has, in the immortal words of Douglas Adams, whooshed by. This is despite our best efforts as rereading and considering each submission as well as writing handwritten notes to everyone in the last rounds was rather time consuming!

However, we are now down to the last stretch. The end is in sight! (or nigh depending on how you look at it)

The following titles remain on our list under consideration.

Collusion
To Moor-Ocean Green
The Widowers Song
Higher … More

Tags: , ,
Posted in Submissions, Writing | 20 Comments »

Gollancz acquires science fiction murder mystery set on Mars

Gollancz Team: - February 16th, 2017
Acquisitions, News

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of World Rights to science fiction thriller ONE WAY and its sequel by S.J. Morden. Perfect for fans of Andy Weir’s The Martian and Richard Morgan, ONE WAY is a murder mystery set on the frozen wastes of Mars. Eight astronauts, one Killer, no way home.

Gollancz Senior Editor, Rachel Winterbottom, bought the rights to the two-book deal from Antony Harwood at Antony Harwood Ltd.

Author, S. J. Morden said: ‘It’s not often a … More

Tags: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Acquisitions, News | 1 Comment »

Gollancz acquires hard-hitting military SF thrillers from Gavin G. Smith

Gollancz Team: - January 19th, 2017
Gavin G. Smith, News

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of three books in a new SF series, The Bastard Legion, from Gavin G. Smith, an author described as ‘an exceptional talent’ by Peter F. Hamilton.

Gollancz commissioning editor, Marcus Gipps, bought the rights to three books from Robert Dinsdale at AM Heath. The books will originally be released as eBooks and audio downloads, with physical releases to follow.

Four hundred years in the future, the most dangerous criminals are kept in suspended animation … More

Tags: , , , , , ,
Posted in Gavin G. Smith, News | No Comments »

Next Page »