The Entire Works of David Gemmell are Coming to Audio for the First Time!

Orion Audio and Hachette Audio have jointly acquired world audio rights from Anna Carmichael and Ben Fowler at Abner Stein (on behalf of the Howard Morhaim Literary Agency) for the full works of fantasy legend, David Gemmell. A perennial Sunday Times bestseller, Gemmell was a staple of the UK fantasy scene until his untimely death in 2006. Between Orion Audio and Hachette 33 titles, not previously available in audio, will now be moving into production including; LEGEND and the DRENAI series, the RIGANTE series; and the TROY series – completed posthumously by Stella Gemmell. This will mean the entire, unabridged…

CONTINUE READING

Gollancz pre-empts debut YA fantasy THE GIRL KING

Rachel Winterbottom, Senior Editor at Gollancz, has bought UK and Commonwealth (ex. Canada) rights in a two-book pre-empt for THE GIRL KING by Mimi Yu from Molly Ker Hawn at The Bent Agency, to be published in Spring 2019 in trade paperback. This YA debut was inspired by East and North Asian histories and follows an exiled princess fighting to reclaim the throne from her cruel cousin, with the reluctant help of a shapeshifting boy whose family was killed by the empire. Rachel Winterbottom said: ‘When I read the first page of THE GIRL KING, I knew this book was something…

CONTINUE READING

Announcing a stunning new epic fantasy series from Gollancz

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of The Ember Blade, and two further titles in an epic fantasy trilogy, by award-winning author Chris Wooding. A land under occupation. A legendary sword. A young man’s journey to find his destiny. Aren has lived by the rules all his life. He’s never questioned it; that’s just the way things are. But then his father is executed for treason, and he and his best friend Cade are thrown into a prison mine, doomed to work until they drop. Unless they can somehow break free . . . But what lies beyond the…

CONTINUE READING

*OPEN SUBMISSION ALERT* We’ve got some news!

Hello everyone, As you have probably noticed our deadline has, in the immortal words of Douglas Adams, whooshed by. This is despite our best efforts as rereading and considering each submission as well as writing handwritten notes to everyone in the last rounds was rather time consuming! However, we are now down to the last stretch. The end is in sight! (or nigh depending on how you look at it) The following titles remain on our list under consideration. Collusion To Moor-Ocean Green The Widowers Song Higher Ground Hrimland Porta Coili, the Order of Saint Ceclina Bent Torn A Mars…

CONTINUE READING

Gollancz acquires science fiction murder mystery set on Mars

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of World Rights to science fiction thriller ONE WAY and its sequel by S.J. Morden. Perfect for fans of Andy Weir’s The Martian and Richard Morgan, ONE WAY is a murder mystery set on the frozen wastes of Mars. Eight astronauts, one Killer, no way home. Gollancz Senior Editor, Rachel Winterbottom, bought the rights to the two-book deal from Antony Harwood at Antony Harwood Ltd. Author, S. J. Morden said: ‘It’s not often a writer gets the opportunity to both let their geek flag fly high, and slaughter their way through a cast…

CONTINUE READING