We are interrupting your broadcast for a special announcement: Joe Hill’s Strange Weather

Strange Weather: a new collection of Joe Hill short novels from Gollancz Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of UK & Commonwealth rights including audio to STRANGE WEATHER, a collection of four creepy and powerful novellas from Joe Hill, bestselling author of THE FIREMAN. Gollancz commissioning editor Marcus Gipps bought the rights to STRANGE WEATHER from Laurel Choate at The Choate Agency, with Jennifer Brehl at William Morrow acquiring for the US. Joe Hill said: “I’m a fan of the slim, heart-punch novel that can be read in a single sitting: On Chesil Beach, Sense of an Ending, Heart…

CONTINUE READING

Gollancz pre-empts debut YA fantasy THE GIRL KING

Rachel Winterbottom, Senior Editor at Gollancz, has bought UK and Commonwealth (ex. Canada) rights in a two-book pre-empt for THE GIRL KING by Mimi Yu from Molly Ker Hawn at The Bent Agency, to be published in Spring 2019 in trade paperback. This YA debut was inspired by East and North Asian histories and follows an exiled princess fighting to reclaim the throne from her cruel cousin, with the reluctant help of a shapeshifting boy whose family was killed by the empire. Rachel Winterbottom said: ‘When I read the first page of THE GIRL KING, I knew this book was something…

CONTINUE READING

Announcing a stunning new epic fantasy series from Gollancz

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of The Ember Blade, and two further titles in an epic fantasy trilogy, by award-winning author Chris Wooding. A land under occupation. A legendary sword. A young man’s journey to find his destiny. Aren has lived by the rules all his life. He’s never questioned it; that’s just the way things are. But then his father is executed for treason, and he and his best friend Cade are thrown into a prison mine, doomed to work until they drop. Unless they can somehow break free . . . But what lies beyond the…

CONTINUE READING

Gollancz to publish new Joanne M Harris!

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of A Pocketful of Crows, the first of two stunning novellas by award-winning and bestselling author Joanne M. Harris. Gillian Redfearn, Publishing Director of Gollancz, acquired world rights (excluding Italy) from Peter Robinson of the Rogers, Coleridge & White Literary Agency. A Pocketful of Crows is a dark fable for adults, and a perfect read for the winter months. Beautifully written and illustrated,  it was inspired by the The Brown Girl ballad (number 295 in The Child Ballad – a collection of 305 traditional English and Scottish tales from the late 1800’s) and…

CONTINUE READING

Gollancz acquires science fiction murder mystery set on Mars

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of World Rights to science fiction thriller ONE WAY and its sequel by S.J. Morden. Perfect for fans of Andy Weir’s The Martian and Richard Morgan, ONE WAY is a murder mystery set on the frozen wastes of Mars. Eight astronauts, one Killer, no way home. Gollancz Senior Editor, Rachel Winterbottom, bought the rights to the two-book deal from Antony Harwood at Antony Harwood Ltd. Author, S. J. Morden said: ‘It’s not often a writer gets the opportunity to both let their geek flag fly high, and slaughter their way through a cast…

CONTINUE READING