Slush Pile Success! Assistant Editor snatches brilliant Icelandic fantasy debut from open submissions!

Gollancz, is delighted to announce the acquisition of a brilliant, genre-defining fantasy duology by debut author Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson. SHADOWS OF THE SHORT DAYS, is a strikingly original Icelandic debut set in a strangely familiar alternate Reykjavík where wild and industrialised magic meet. Perfect for fans of China Miéville, Lev Grossman and Paulo Bacigalupi, this is a strange and wonderful tale of damaged characters forging a revolution against an oppressive government. Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson is a fantastic new voice in the genre that will speak to a new generation of readers. Gollancz assistant editor, Craig Leyenaar, acquired World Rights to…

CONTINUE READING

Gollancz pre-empts The God Game from Macmillan US

Rachel Winterbottom, Commissioning Editor at Gollancz, pre-empted UK and Commonwealth (ex. Canada) rights for The God Game by Danny Tobey from Macmillan US, to be published in summer 2019 in hardback. The God Game is a brilliantly plotted science-fiction thriller about a VR game in which the stakes are impossibly high: if you die in the game, you die in real life. Rachel Winterbottom said: ‘I am so excited to be able to publish Danny’s incredible thriller. The God Game is not only fast-paced, suspenseful and electrifyingly current, it is full of deliciously agonizing moral dilemmas and characters that will…

CONTINUE READING

Exciting Acquisition News: Emma Newman has joined Gollancz!

We are delighted to share the news that the award-winning Emma Newman has joined the Gollancz list, and we’re set to publish four books set in the PLANETFALL world! A new title in the series, BEFORE MARS, will publish alongside the US in April 2018 and the fourth will follow in 2019. Ebooks and audio books of the first two books in the series, PLANETFALL and AFTER ATLAS, will be published on the 28th December 2017, with paperbacks following in February 2018. Originally published by Ace Books in the US, both titles received widespread glowing reviews, including from the New York…

CONTINUE READING

Gollancz acquires Dhonielle Clayton’s The Belles

We’ve got some very exciting news. We are thrilled to announce that we will be publishing Dhonielle Clayton’s The Belles this February! Rachel Winterbottom, Commissioning Editor at Gollancz, has bought The Belles plus one sequel by Dhonielle Clayton, to be published in February 2018 in trade paperback. This crossover YA fantasy is about beauty and power, set in a lush world where beauty is a complete mirage. Rachel Winterbottom said: ‘I was instantly entranced by this opulent world that manages to be both decadent and terrifying. Dhonielle’s The Belles opens up terribly important conversations about the commodification of women’s bodies,…

CONTINUE READING

Gollancz Acquire Steven Erikson’s Rejoice, A Knife to the Heart

Gollancz is thrilled to announce the acquisition of Rejoice, A Knife to the Heart, a new science fiction novel from bestselling fantasy author Steven Erikson. Gollancz Commissioning Editor, Marcus Gipps, bought the rights from Caspian Dennis at Abner Stein on behalf of Howard Morhaim of the Morhaim Literary Agency. The deal is for World excluding North America and includes audio and translation rights. North American rights have sold to Promontory Press. Rejoice, A Knife to the Heart tells the story of the Intervention, which begins when Samantha August, science fiction writer, disappears into a beam of light, apparently from a…

CONTINUE READING