Acquisition Announcement: Sanctuary by V.V. James

Gollancz acquires World rights to Sanctuary by V.V. James Rachel Winterbottom, Commissioning Editor at Gollancz, bought World rights for Sanctuary by V.V. James in a two-book deal from Robert Kirby at United Agents. Publishing spring 2019, Sanctuary is a small-town murder mystery about four women with a dark secret who find themselves at the centre of a gripping investigation that sends shockwaves across the nation. Rachel Winterbottom said: ‘For those who loved the mystery and scandal of Big Little Lies and the sisterhood of Practical Magic, V.V. James’ Sanctuary is a biting, tightly plotted, cross-genre thriller that takes a paranoid peek behind…

CONTINUE READING

Gollancz acquires novel version of THE QUANDERHORN XPERIMENTATIONS

  Marcus Gipps, Gollancz Commissioning Editor, has acquired World All Language rights to a new novel from Red Dwarf co-creator Rob Grant and 2point4children creator Andrew Marshall. THE QUANDERHORN XPERIMENTATIONS is a full length novel springing and expanded from the soon-to-be-broadcast six-part Radio 4 series of the same name. The series will be broadcast alongside the release of the book and features a stellar cast of comedy performers. England, 1952. Churchill is Prime Minister for the last time. Rationing is still in force. All music sounds like the BBC Radiophonic Workshop. People like living in 1952: it’s familiar and reassuring,…

CONTINUE READING

Gollancz acquires space opera Seven Devils by Elizabeth May and Laura Lam

Elizabeth May

Rachel Winterbottom, Commissioning Editor at Gollancz, bought UK and Commonwealth (ex. Canada) rights for Seven Devils, plus one sequel, by Elizabeth May and Laura Lam from Juliet Mushens at Caskie Mushens in association with Russell Galen at SGG. Book one of the duology, Seven Devils, will be published in summer 2019. North American rights were sold to Betsy Wollheim at DAW Books. Seven Devils is a fast-paced space opera set in a universe where every person is born with loyalty to the Empire coded into their DNA – so it takes a special kind of individual to break their programming…

CONTINUE READING

Slush Pile Success! Assistant Editor snatches brilliant Icelandic fantasy debut from open submissions!

Gollancz, is delighted to announce the acquisition of a brilliant, genre-defining fantasy duology by debut author Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson. SHADOWS OF THE SHORT DAYS, is a strikingly original Icelandic debut set in a strangely familiar alternate Reykjavík where wild and industrialised magic meet. Perfect for fans of China Miéville, Lev Grossman and Paulo Bacigalupi, this is a strange and wonderful tale of damaged characters forging a revolution against an oppressive government. Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson is a fantastic new voice in the genre that will speak to a new generation of readers. Gollancz assistant editor, Craig Leyenaar, acquired World Rights to…

CONTINUE READING

Gollancz pre-empts The God Game from Macmillan US

Rachel Winterbottom, Commissioning Editor at Gollancz, pre-empted UK and Commonwealth (ex. Canada) rights for The God Game by Danny Tobey from Macmillan US, to be published in summer 2019 in hardback. The God Game is a brilliantly plotted science-fiction thriller about a VR game in which the stakes are impossibly high: if you die in the game, you die in real life. Rachel Winterbottom said: ‘I am so excited to be able to publish Danny’s incredible thriller. The God Game is not only fast-paced, suspenseful and electrifyingly current, it is full of deliciously agonizing moral dilemmas and characters that will…

CONTINUE READING