Book of the Month: Son of the Morning

20140403_100936Our book of the month for April is the mighty Son of the Morning by Mark Alder. The best way to introduce it is via an edited letter from Simon,our Associate Publisher for Gollancz, which he penned to our Geeks earlier in the year (who you’ll be hearing more from later in the month) to bring them to this epic read. The first chapter is below, and we’re be serializing it throughout the month with a giveaway to come.

CONTINUE READING

Way of Kings Read Along Chapters 20-28 (plus intervals 4-6)

Hello my Readalong Friends, Turns out that my birthday was last week and that, as a surprise, I was taken to Scotland to celebrate it. Firstly, I must say: what an incredible country! As a fantasy fan I found it particularly enjoyable – Castles, Harry Potter, monsters in lakes: what more do you need? – but, of course, my relatives didn’t consider this readalong when booking it, did they!? So, I must apologise ON THEIR BEHALF that this week’s post, Chapters 21-28, are coming to you a week later than billed! However, there was a fair amount of reading, so I…

CONTINUE READING

The Boy With the Porcelain Blade: Chapter 3 and early reviews

Our book of the month for March is the brilliant debut The Boy With the Porcelain Blade from Den Patrick, which is out this Thursday (20th). The blogosphere is already beginning to light up with buzz about it – advance reviews are full of how gripping it is, how appealing the characters are and how rich the world is. We couldn’t agree more! Click on the publication links to read the full reviews, and scroll down to get your hands on chapter three. “A finely-crafted thriller… that will appeal to fans of Robin Hobb, Scott Lynch and Jon Courtenay Grimwood.” (Jack…

CONTINUE READING

Wolves: Chapter Three

The good news is that January is nearly over. The bad news is, this is also means that this is the last chapter of Wolves we’ll be sharing as our book of the month, to make room for next month’s pick. You can catch up on Chapter One and Chapter Two, and some lucky Gollancz Geeks will soon be getting their paws (geddit?! Because of the wolf thing. Anyone? No?) on the whole book to read and review soon. Dystopian fiction fans, this one is for you. Click here to read Chapter Three. Enjoy!

CONTINUE READING

Wolves: Chapter Two

Our book of the month in January is Wolves by Simon Ings, which is best described in a different Simon’s introduction to chapter one last week. It is a chilling dystopian work; a story about technology becomes a personal quest into a changed world and the pursuit of a secret from the past. A secret about a missing mother, a secret that could hide a murder. This is no dry analysis of how a technology might change us, it is a terrifying thriller, a picture of a dark tomorrow that is just around the corner. Catch up with chapter one and then…

CONTINUE READING