Cover Reveal: THE SMOKE

The Smoke Cover

Behold this gorgeous cover! Simon Ings’ latest SF novel The Smoke is about love, loss and loneliness in the capital city. So it’s the perfect thing to read on your commute, wherever your travels might be taking you. From the acclaimed writer of Wolves, The Smoke is an incredibly beautiful piece of writing. Prepare to be emotionally and intellectually ensnared. Humanity has been split into three different species. Mutual incomprehension has fractured the globe. As humans race to be the first of their kind to reach the stars, another Great War looms. For you that means returning to Yorkshire and…

CONTINUE READING

Happy Publication Day to Luna: Wolf Moon!

It’s publication day and we’ve got an outta-this-world book for you. The sequel to what was described as ‘Game of Thrones on the moon’, this book is a must-have! Luna: Wolf Moon by Ian McDonald The BSFA and Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author returns with the second part of his stunning moon colonisation epic, perfect for fans of The Martian and Red Mars. Corta Helio, one of the five family corporations that rule the Moon,  has fallen. Its riches are divided up among its many enemies, its  survivors scattered. Eighteen months have passed. The remaining Helio children, Lucasinho and Luna,…

CONTINUE READING

Miska Corbin vs. the World

We are thrilled to welcome the brilliant Gavin Smith back to the Gollancz Blog. Today, Gavin will introduce us to the unforgettable Miska Corbin and we’ll get to see how she would fare against some of our favourite genre characters.  Seven years ago my first novel, Veteran, came out.  To help publicise it I wrote this blog comparing Jakob Douglas, the ne’er do well hero of Veteran with other fictional, so-called hard men like Snake Plissken, Takeshi Kovacs and Mad Max.  As I had set up the completely arbitrary ranking system, not surprisingly, my fictional creation scored quite well against…

CONTINUE READING

The Martians have returned in our extract from THE MASSACRE OF MANKIND

We are thrilled to share with you the opening chapters from Stephen Baxter’s The Massacre of Mankind. Are you ready for the Martian invasion? The Massacre of Mankind is the authorised sequel to H.G. Wells’ classic The War of the Worlds. It has been 14 years since the Martians invaded England. The world has moved on, always watching the skies but content that we know how to defeat the Martian menace. The Army is prepared. So when the signs of launches on Mars are seen, there seems little reason to worry. Unless you listen to one man, Walter Jenkins, the…

CONTINUE READING

Welcome to the #SummerOfReckoning . . .

Summer has finally arrived. With the weather hotting up, its time to talk about . . . the end of the world. We’ve teamed up with our sister imprints Orion and W&N to bring you the ultimate list of summer apocalypse reads, our #SummerofReckoning. Give in to the Doomsday prepper in you and get yourself a bug out bag of apocalypses for your summer reading!   Our #SummerOfReckoning books are: The Hatching by Ezekiel Boone Smoke by Dan Vyleta The Fireman by Joe Hill Red Queen and Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard Good Morning Midnight by Lily Brookes-Dalton The Passage…

CONTINUE READING